Skip to main content
Portrait Marion Jasnin
Helmholtz Munich | © Matthias Tunger

Dr. Marion Jasnin

Principal Investigator Helmholtz Pioneer Campus
+49 89 3187 43896Email meBuilding/Room: 44

Research Area

Marion received her PhD in Biophysics from Joseph Fourier University in 2007 under Professor Giuseppe Zaccai, where she exploited neutron scattering to explore water dynamics and macromolecular motions directly inside living cells. Her early postdoctoral work in the Department of Professor Wolfgang Baumeister at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry was supported by two postdoctoral fellowships (EMBO and Marie Curie fellowships, 2011-2013), and the award of an HFSP Program Grant (2016-2021) gave her the opportunity to start her own subgroup. With Renaud Poincloux / IPBS, she then obtained an ANR-DFG grant (cryoAdhesome, 2020-2024) to establish podosomes as a model system for structure-function analysis of the actin cytoskeleton in a cellular system that has direct implications for in vivo function, such as during bone turnover, tissue and cancer invasion. She also recently built a consortium with teams from the Institut Jacques-Monod, LPTMS and Sorbonne University to model podosome mechanics from the molecular scale up to the mesoscale, and were awarded an MIC grant (2020-2023). In 2022, she joined the Helmholtz Pioneer Campus as a Principal Investigator.

Professional Background


Principal Investigator – Helmholtz Pioneer Campus, Helmholtz Munich


Project Group Leader – Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry


Postdoc (Wolfgang Baumeister) – Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry


Postdoc (Giuseppe Zaccai) – Institut Laue-Langevin (ILL)


Graduate Student (Giuseppe Zaccai and Moevea Tehei) – Institut de Biologie Structurale (IBS)


Master Student (Daniel Riveline) – Laboratoire Interdisciplinaire de Physique (LIPhy)


Student Intern (Nils O. Petersen) – Western University, Department of Chemistry

Honors and Awards

  • 2020-2024
    ANR-DFG NLE 2020 – Individual Research Grant (CryoAdhesome, Grant number JA-3038/2-1)

  • 2020-2023
    ITMO Cancer Aviesan call 2020 – Participation in an MIC Grant (Multiscale Modelling of Invadosome Force Sensing)

  • 2016-2021
    Participation in an HFSP Program Grant (Grant number RGP0035/2016)

  • 2012-2013
    Marie Curie Intra-European Fellowship (Grant number 273192)

  • 2011
    EMBO Long-Term Fellowship (Grant number 1099-2010)

  • 2008-2009
    ILL Postdoctoral Fellowship

  • 2004-2007
    Graduate Research Fellowship from the French Ministry of Education
    Grenoble INP Graduate Lecturer Fellowship

  • 2003-2004
    Joseph Fourier University Masters Scholarship

  • 2024
    Chan Zuckerberg initiative - Cryo-CLEM labels grant

Gold Star Awards Luxury Background
suppa -

Networks and Affiliations