Skip to main content
Helmholtz Munich | Matthias Tunger Photodesign

Prof. Dr. Vigo Heissmeyer

Head of Institute of Molecular Immunregulation (AMIR)

"Deciphering the molecular mechanisms that control T cell-driven immune responses will create critical knowledge for future therapies against autoimmune diseases or immune cell therapies against cancer."

Prof. Dr. Vigo Heissmeyer

Head of Institute of Molecular Immunregulation (AMIR)

"Deciphering the molecular mechanisms that control T cell-driven immune responses will create critical knowledge for future therapies against autoimmune diseases or immune cell therapies against cancer."

His academic career started with a PhD in signal transduction at the MDC in Berlin and a Postdoctoral Fellowship at Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA, where he studied transcriptional programs and signal transduction in T helper cells. Returning to Germany and building his own Young Investigator Group at Helmholtz Munich a new focus on post-transcriptional gene regulation by RNA-binding proteins and mRNA modifications was established.

 

His work aims to understand the post-transcriptional gene regulation underlying T cell fate decisions including development, activation, differentiation and formation of effector or memory cells. These programs protect us from invading pathogens and tumor cells but, once dysregulated, can also cause autoimmunity or inflammation.

Mouse models molecular and cellular immunology,biochemistry in primary T cells

2001-2005

Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA

2005-2009

Young Investigator at Helmholtz Munich

2009-2001

Tenured Group leader at the Institute of Molecular Immunology (Helmholtz Munich)

since 2012

Head of Research Unit (Molecular Immune Regulation, Helmholtz Munich) and Professor at the Institute for Immunology (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)

Honors and Awards

2011
ERC starting grant (consolidator category)

Publications by Vigo Heissmeyer

Read more

2022 Scientific Article in Nature Communications

Günsel, G.G. ; Conlon, T.M. ; Jeridi, A. ; Kim, R. ; Ertüz, Z. ; Lang, N.J. ; Ansari, M. ; Novikova, M. ; Jiang, D. ; Strunz, M. ; Gaianova, M. ; Hollauer, C. ; Gabriel, C. ; Angelidis, I. ; Doll, S. ; Pestoni, J. ; Edelmann, S.L. ; Kohlhepp, M.S. ; Guillot, A. ; Bassler, K. ; Van Eeckhoutte, H.P. ; Kayalar, Ö. ; Konyalilar, N. ; Kanashova, T. ; Rodius, S. ; Ballester-Lopez, C. ; Genes Robles, C.M. ; Smirnova, N.F. ; Rehberg, M. ; Agarwal, C. ; Krikki, I. ; Piavaux, B. ; Verleden, S.E. ; Vanaudenaerde, B. ; Königshoff, M. ; Dittmar, G. ; Bracke, K.R. ; Schultze, J.L. ; Watz, H. ; Eickelberg, O. ; Stöger, T. ; Burgstaller, G. ; Tacke, F. ; Heissmeyer, V. ; Rinkevich, Y. ; Bayram, H. ; Schiller, H. B. ; Conrad, M. ; Schneider, R. ; Yildirim, A.Ö.

The arginine methyltransferase PRMT7 promotes extravasation of monocytes resulting in tissue injury in COPD.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen
Matthias Tunger Photodesign

Prof. Dr. Vigo Heissmeyer

Leiter der Abteilung Molekulare Immunregulation (AMIR)

"Die Entschlüsselung von molekularen Mechanismen der T-Zell-gesteuerten Immunantwort erzeugt das entscheidende Wissen für zukünftige Therapien gegen Autoimmunerkrankungen oder Immunzelltherapien gegen Krebs."

 

"Die Entschlüsselung von molekularen Mechanismen der T-Zell-gesteuerten Immunantwort erzeugt das entscheidende Wissen für zukünftige Therapien gegen Autoimmunerkrankungen oder Immunzelltherapien gegen Krebs."

 

Vigo Heissmeyers akademische Karriere begann mit einer Promotion auf dem Gebiet der Signaltransduktion am MDC in Berlin und einem Postdoc-Stipendium an der Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA, wo er Transkriptionsprogramme und Signaltransduktion in T-Helferzellen untersuchte. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland und dem Aufbau einer eigenen Nachwuchsgruppe am Helmholtz Zentrum München setzte er mit Untersuchungen zur post-transkriptionellen Genregulation durch RNA-bindende Proteine und mRNA-Modifikationen einen neuen Schwerpunkt.

 

Ziel seiner Arbeit ist die Aufklärung der posttranskriptionale Genregulation, die über das Schicksal von T-Zellen entscheidet, einschließlich Entwicklung, Aktivierung, Differenzierung und Bildung von Effektor- oder Gedächtniszellen. Diese Prozesse schützen uns vor eindringenden Krankheitserregern und Tumorzellen, können aber, wenn sie dysreguliert sind, auch Autoimmunität oder Entzündungen verursachen.

Mausmodelle Molekulare und zelluläre Immunologie,Biochemie in Primärzellen

Seit 2012

Leiter der Forschungseinheit Molekulare Immunregulation, (Helmholtz Zentrum München) und Professor am Institut für Immunologie (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)

2009-2012

Tenure Gruppenleiter am Institut für Molekulare Immunologie (Helmholtz Zentrum München)

2005-2009

Nachwuchswissenschaftler am Helmholtz Zentrum München

2001-2005

Postdoc, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA

Auszeichnungen und Preise

2011
ERC Starting Grant

Publikationen von Vigo Heissmeyer

Weiterlesen