Skip to main content
Matthias Tunger Photodesign
01:0

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Matthias H. Tschöp

CEO at Helmholtz Munich

"My vision is centered on transformative acceleration from basic research breakthroughs to medical solutions for society."

˝My strategic vision is centered on transformative acceleration of the path from basic research breakthroughs to delivering medical solutions for society.˝

CV
 

Matthias H. Tschöp is the CEO and Spokesperson for the Management at Helmholtz Munich since 2018 and ‘Alexander von Humboldt’ Professor at the Technical University of Munich since 2012. His vision is to position the region Munich as a world leading hub for biomedical research in order to efficiently find new solutions to the health challenges facing our rapidly changing world. He is realizing this by advancing excellence in basic biomedical research and accelerates its translation into personalized prevention and new precision therapies.

Matthias Tschöp (*1967), the physician, scientist and science manager, has made pioneering discoveries in the diabetes and obesity research fields. His achievements include the discovery of the hunger hormone ghrelin as well as the discovery of gut hormone polyagonists, a group of active agents that can significantly improve weight reduction in obesity as well as blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes. The drug Tirzepatide (Mounjaro), produced by Lilly, was the first polyagonist, which was approved for use back in May 2022 (previously in the USA) and another 10 polyagonists are on their way to approval in clinical trials.  

Born in Munich and a family man, he knows the different perspectives between medicine and research from his own experience: After obtaining his license to practice medicine from the Ludwig Maximilian University Hospital, he moved to the United States to work in diabetes research for a pharmaceutical company, co-founded a start-up and headed a research institute at the University of Cincinnati as a professor and research director before returning to Germany after more than ten years abroad. He turned the Helmholtz Diabetes Center into a world-leading research institution as its founding director and launched the Helmholtz Pioneer Campus before he joined the executive board.

Facts and Figures

2020

Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization

2018

CEO at Helmholtz Munich

2018

Full member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities

2017

Honorary Doctor of the University of Leipzig

2016

Member of the Academia Europaea

2013

Member of the Leopoldina

2012

Alexander von Humboldt Professor at the Technical University of Munich

2011

Director Helmholtz Diabetes Center at Helmholtz Munich

2003

Professorship at the University of Cincinnati

1998

Doctorate in Medicine at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Univeristät München

Selected Awards

  • 2021: Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine

  • 2021: Berthold Medal

  • 2019: Paul Langerhans Medal

  • 2017: Carus Medal of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

  • 2016: European Medal of the Society for Endocrinology

  • 2014: Erwin Schrödinger Prize

suppa - stock.adobe.com

Matthias Tschöp Receives Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2021

With your consent, third party content may be loaded here, which could use cookies from the respective provider. By using this content, you agree to the use of cookies. You may find more information about cookies in our Privacy Statement.

Twitter feed

Zum Hauptinhalt springen
Matthias Tunger Photodesign
01:0

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Matthias H. Tschöp

CEO und Wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer von Helmholtz Munich

"Meine Vision ist es, die Übersetzung neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse des Forschungszentrums in klinische Anwendungen durch die konsequente Entwicklung und Anwendung von Zukunftstechnologien bei Helmholtz Munich transformativ zu beschleunigen."

"Meine Vision ist es, die Übersetzung neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse des Forschungszentrums in klinische Anwendungen durch die konsequente Entwicklung und Anwendung von Zukunftstechnologien bei Helmholtz Munich transformativ zu beschleunigen."

Vita
 

Seit 2018 ist Matthias H. Tschöp wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer und Sprecher der Geschäftsführung bei Helmholtz Munich sowie seit 2012 Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professor an der Technischen Universität München. Seine Vision ist es, in München als einen weltweit führenden Standort für biomedizinische Forschung zu positionieren, um effizient neue Lösungen für die gesundheitlichen Herausforderungen unserer sich immer schneller wandelnden Welt zu finden. Dafür treibt er die Exzellenz in der biomedizinischen Grundlagenforschung voran und forciert deren beschleunigte Übersetzung in personalisierte Prävention und neue Präzisionstherapien.

Der Arzt, Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftsmanager Matthias Tschöp (*1967) hat selbst zu bahnbrechende Entdeckungen auf dem Gebiet der Diabetes- und Adipositas-Forschung beigetragen. Zu seinen Erfolgen zählen die Entdeckung des Hungerhormons Ghrelin sowie die Entdeckung der Darmhormon-Polyagonisten, eine Wirkstoffklasse, die wesentlich verbesserte Gewichtsreduktion bei Adipositas sowie deutlich bessere Einstellung des Blutzuckers bei Typ 2 Diabetes bietet. Mit dem Medikament Tirzepatide (Mounjaro) der Firma Lilly ist seit Mai 2022 der erste Polyagonist zugelassen (bisher USA), etwa 10 weitere Polyagonisten sind in klinischen Studien auf dem Weg zur Zulassung. 

Der geborene Münchner und Familienvater kennt die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven von Medizin und Forschung aus eigener Erfahrung: Nach der Approbation am Klinikum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität wechselte er in die Diabetesforschung eines pharmazeutischen Unternehmens in die Vereinigten Staaten, war Mit-Gründer eines Startups und leitete als Professur und Forschungsdirektor ein Forschungsinstitut an der Universität Cincinnati, bevor er nach über zehn Jahren wieder nach Deutschland zurückkehrte. Vor seinem Wechsel in die Geschäftsführung baute er als Gründungsdirektor das Helmholtz Diabetes Center zu einer weltweit führenden Forschungsinstitution auf und startete den Helmholtz Pioneer Campus.

Zahlen und Fakten

2020

Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organization

2018

Wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer bei Helmholtz Munich

2018

Ordentliches Mitglied der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften

2017

Ehrendoktor der Universität Leipzig

2016

Mitglied der Academia Europaea

2013

Mitglied der Leopoldina

2012

Alexander-von-Humboldt-Professor an der Technischen Universität München

2011

Direktor Helmholtz Diabetes Center bei Helmholtz Munich

2003

Professur an der University of Cincinnati

Ausgewählte Auszeichnungen

  • 2021: Ernst-Jung-Preis für Medizin

  • 2021: Berthold-Medaille

  • 2019: Paul-Langerhans-Medaille

  • 2017: Carus-Medaille der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina

  • 2016: European Medal der Society for Endocrinology

  • 2014: Erwin-Schrödinger-Preis

suppa - stock.adobe.com

Matthias Tschöp erhält Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2021

Mit Ihrer Zustimmung werden hier Inhalte Dritter geladen, die auch Cookies des jeweiligen Anbieters verwenden können. Durch die Nutzung dieser Inhalte erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden.

Twitter feed